On Saturday, October 29, 2016, the Engineering Contractors’ Association will continue its tradition of honoring individuals who have laid the foundations upon which this industry is built. As we have done since 1988, we will again recognize the dedicated work of those who have advanced the professionalism of the construction industry.

This year’s recipients are:

dig_dave-sorem2016 Recipient
Dave Sorem
Mike Bubalo Construction Co., Inc.

As owner of Bubalo Construction for the past 16 years, Dave has been a tireless advocate of the heavy utility construction industry. He served as ECA President in 2014 and 2015 and is currently ECA’s Vice President of Infrastructure Development. Also a professional engineer, the thrust of Dave’s work is now to effect an increase in critical infrastructure funding.

dig_john-t-malloy2016 Posthumous Recipient
John T. Malloy
John T. Malloy Inc.

As founder of his pipeline contracting business, John T. Malloy, Inc., John Malloy was a dedicated contractor and leader of this industry throughout his life. He served as ECA President in 1990 and 1991 and was honored as the ECA DIG Award recipient in 2007 for his commitment to the association and industry. This will be the 5th DIG Award presented to a member of the Malloy family.

This award recognizes dignity, integrity and generosity – DIG – in individuals whose lifetime achievements in the industry and contributions to society have made a lasting difference for us all. Their dedication and commitment to profession and community represent the highest examples of leadership and devotion.
The event takes place Saturday, October 29, starting at 6:00 p.m. with a hosted reception, followed at 7:30 p.m. with the black tie dinner and ceremony at the Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore Hotel. The hotel is located at 506 S. Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, California.

Proceeds from the ECA DIG Award provide funding for the ECA Les Weed Memorial Scholarship. Since its inception in 1990 by the late ECA President, Les Weed, the ECA Scholarship Committee has awarded $211,000 to 109 recipients to further academic careers in a variety of disciplines. Please join us in this celebration!