Celebrating 43 years of service to the heavy construction industry, ECA hosted its annual Installation of Officers at the spectacular Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel. The ECA Executive Board, under the direction of President Brendan Slagle of J.F. Shea Construction, was sworn in for their term, before a full house marking the momentous occasion in January.

Orange County Board of Supervisors Chair Lisa A. Bartlett, of the 5th District, delivered an eloquent oath of office to the incoming ECA Board.

Brendan Slagle of J.F. Shea Construction assumed the office of ECA President, Garrett Francis of Fryman Management is ECA’s Vice President, Dave Sorem of Mike Bubalo Construction is the Vice President of Infrastructure Development, Alan Ludwig of Pascal & Ludwig Constructors is the ECA’s Treasurer, and Scott Salandi of Patriot Risk & Insurance Services is the Affiliate Chair.

Supervisor Bartlett administered the oath to the 2019 ECA Directors: Michael Baker, Snell & Wilmer, LLP; Nick Balaity, Aldrich CPAs + Advisors LLP; Guy Barker, Trench Plate Rental Co.; Mladen Buntich, Mladen Buntich Const. Co.; Anna M. Carno, Carno Law Group; Barry Corea, Trench Shoring Company; Dan Costello, Venbrook Insurance Services; Eric DeCrescenzo, Catalina Pacific Concrete; Toby Edinger, Murray Company; John Gavigan, Vasilj, Inc.; Gene Glassburner, Performance Pipeline Tech.; Kristion Grbavac, GRBCON, Inc.; Michael Grbavac, Ramona Inc.; Tanner Hambright, Hardy & Harper; Nick Hull, Alliance Solutions Group; Warren Hennagin, Marcum LLP; Jordan Latimer, Ferreira Construction Co., Inc.; Megan Kay, Chief Transportation; Gus Madrigal, Alcorn Fence Company; Gerry McEwen, Garret/Mosier Insurance Service, Inc.; Nick McFayden, Pro-Craft Construction; Anthony Niccoli, Atkinson, Andelson; Dan J. Peterson, Dan J. Peterson; Brandon Pensick, Ferreira Construction Co., Inc.; Mike Reardon, California Boring; Lou Rendon, Frazer LLP; Garrett Richardson, Mission Clay Products Corp.; Tim Rivard, T.A. Rivard, Inc.; Nicole Soulages, Commercial Surety; Rick Tatum, Trebor Shoring Rentals; Elizabeth Torrez, United Rentals Trench Safety ; N i c Waldenmayer, HMWC CPAs & Business Advisors.

The evening began with a lavish hosted reception as well as entertainment featuring the 17th Annual ECA Silent Auction. Dinner and program followed in the grand ballroom where ECAmembers and guests toasted the new board.

The ECA Safety Forum also presented honors to contractors in the following categories: Under 150,000 man hours: Mike Prlich & Sons, Inc The Conco Companies; Cheryl’s Underground Construction, Inc.; Mladen Buntich Construction Company, Inc.; Pascal & Ludwig Constructors. 150,000-500,000 man hours: Alcorn Fence Company, Ferreira Construction Co., Inc., Pro-Craft Construction, J.F. Shea Construction, Inc. Over 500,000 man hours: Pavement Recycling Systems, Murray Company, Frontier-Kemper Constructors, Inc. Personal/Crew Safety Award: Mladen Buntich Construction Company, Inc. – Eddie Lyons, Jeff Sehi, Chris Jebaili, Jim Kennely.

Trench Shoring Co. was named ECA Affiliate of the Year and Pascal & Ludwig Constructors was named ECA Contractor of the Year.

Thanks again to the Installation Committee for their work on this wonderful event under the direction of chairperson Elizabeth Torrez of United Rentals Trench Safety.

The PAC Silent Auction netted over $14,000 for the evening under the direction of committee chairperson Nic Waldenmayer, HMWC CPAs and Business Advisors, and Elizabeth Torrez, United Rentals Trench Safety