Celebrating 44 years of service to the heavy construction industry, ECA hosted its annual Installation of Officers at the spect acular Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel. The ECA Executive Board, under the direction of President Brendan Slagle of J.F. Shea Construction, was sworn in for their term, before a full house marking the momentous occasion in January.

Susan Rubio, Senator of the 22nd California Senatorial District, delivered an eloquent oath of office to the incoming ECA Board. She is the Chair of the Standing Committee on Insurance, as well as a member of the Standing Committees on Governmental Organization, Health and Transportation.

Brendan Slagle of J.F. Shea Construction assumed the office of ECA President, Garrett Francis of Fryman Management is ECA’s Vice President, Dave Sorem of Mike Bubalo Construction is the Vice President of Infrastructure Development, Michael Prlich of Mike Prlich & Sons is Secretary, Alan Ludwig of Pascal & Ludwig Constructors is the ECA’s Treasurer, and Scott Salandi of Patriot Risk & Insurance Services is the Affiliate Chair. 

Senator Rubio administered the oath to the 2020 ECA Directors: Michael Baker, Snell & Wilmer, LLP; Mladen Buntich, Mladen Buntich Const. Co.; Anna M. Carno, Carno Law Group; Barry Corea, Trench Shoring Company; Gene Glassburner, Performance Pipeline Technology; Kristion Grbavac, GRBCON, Inc.; Jordan Latimer, Ferreira Construction Co., Inc.; Gus Madrigal, Alcorn Fence Company; Daniel Martin, Murray Company; Anthony Niccoli, Atkinson, Andelson; Dan J. Peterson, Dan J. Peterson Company; Brandon Pensick, Ferreira Construction Co., Inc.; Lou Rendon, Rendon & Associates, LLP; Garrett Richardson, Mission Clay Products Corp.; Tim Rivard, T.A. Rivard, Inc.; James Roland, Trench Plate Rental Co.; Elizabeth Torrez, United Rentals Trench Safety; Nic Waldenmayer, HMWC CPAs & Business Advisors.

The evening began with a lavish hosted reception as well as entertainment featuring the 18th Annual ECA Silent Auction. Dinner and program followed in the grand ballroom where ECA members and guests toasted the new board.

The ECA Safety Forum also presented honors to contractors in the following categories: 2019 ECA Safety Award Recipients

ECA congratulates these winners for outstanding achievements in workplace safety:


Under 150,000 man hours

Mike Bubalo Construction, Cheryl’s Underground Construction, Inc., Conco Companies, Fryman Management, GRBCON Inc., Murray-Ferreira Joint Venture, Pascal and Ludwig Constructors, Performance Pipeline Technologies, Pipe Tec, Inc., Mike Prlich & Sons Inc.


150,000-500,000 man hours

Alcorn Fence Company, Ferreira Construction Co., Inc., Nor Cal Pipeline, T.E. Roberts Inc.


Over 500,000 man hours

Frontier-Kemper Constructors, Inc., West Coast Sand and Gravel


2019 Personal/Crew Safety Award

Presented for outstanding achievement in Safety: Doug Marquis, Conco Companies

Thanks again to the Installation Committee for their work on this wonderful event under the direction of chairperson Elizabeth Torrez of United Rentals Trench Safety.

The PAC Silent Auction netted nearly $10,000 for the evening under the direction of committee chairperson Nic Waldenmayer, HMWC CPAs and Business Advisors, and Elizabeth Torrez, United Rentals Trench Safety.


Thank You Sponsors!

Reception SponsorsFerreira Construction

Auction SponsorsUnited Rentals Trench Safety

Wine SponsorsJ.F. Shea Construction

Band Sponsors Mladen Buntich Construction Co.

After Party Sponsors Alcorn Fence Co.

Silver Sponsors Atkinson, Andelson, Loya, Ruud & Romo, LECET Southwest, Performance Pipeline Technologies, Southern California Partnership for Jobs, Trench Plate Rental, Trench Shoring Company

Bronze Sponsors Trebor Shoring Rentals